Food, Libraries and my Reading List of the Week

October 30, 2009 at 10:30 pm (Uncategorized)

Today I have a few things on my mind. It was my fiance’s birthday, so we went to our favorite Indian restaurant, Bollywood Masala in Lexington Park, MD, and had the buffet and their awesome rum-soaked pastry dessert with saffron-pistachio ice cream. Then the owner came over and informed us that in light of it being Charles’ birthday, our entire meal would be on the house. Can you imagine? What a great start to a great weekend!

Tonight we are going to try the Bonefish Grill, which is a new restaurant in Waldorf, MD. We tried Bonefish once before when I was taking some acquisition training at Ft. Belvoir. We went to the Bonefish Grill in Kingstown (a part of Alexandria, VA) and it was great. That time we had Baja shrimp, crab dip and their amazing creme brulee. My favorite dessert is creme brulee, so I’m hoping that’s what Charles will choose this time. But I want to try something different for my entree. Shrimp is good, but I’m more of a crab or scallops girl.

Now that the food is strong on my mind, let me turn to another favorite topic: the library! I have a confession to make. I have a ridiculous love for libraries. I know where all of the local branch libraries are in three counties, and I visit almost all of them at least once a month.

There’s the Leonardtown branch where my mom works, which is in an old building and has a great selection of books on CD and Young Adult fiction. Then there’s the Charlotte Hall branch, closest to my childhood home, which shares its lot with an Amish food market that is a local treasure in itself. Charlotte Hall is where I go to get movies, and copies of old childhood favorites, because their selection of those items is great. Nearest to my new home is the Southern Branch, which is housed in a community center and while it is very small inside, the librarians there are just absolutely the nicest around town. I go there the most often, and despite its size, they have a great collection of nonfiction. The Lexington Park branch is closest to the base where I work, and I go there a lot too. They have a cafe called “Read A Latte” which is so cute, it’s tucked into a corner and they beat Starbucks in my book (no pun intended!) for value and taste. I also really like their selection of YA books on CD, and they have the best space in St. Mary’s hands down. It’s a new building and it’s spacious and comfortable there. Finally, there is the brand new branch in Prince Frederick, MD which is so awesome it made me understand why Carrie Bradshaw chose a library for her (fictional) wedding! I would consider getting married at the Prince Frederick branch. The stacks are just filled with the best finds. I always walk out of there with so many books I can’t fit them all in my library bag.

When I go into a library, I can’t resist just returning the items I have and leaving. Nevermind the fact that I have at least ten or more books still waiting at home, a few books on CD queued up in my car, and even a movie or two. Nope, I walk out with at least two or three more. I have two giant baskets at home with the books that I am going to read, and I always carry a book in my purse for the precious two minutes I can snatch while waiting at the pharmacy or in the case of last summer, when my car breaks down for no apparent reason! Traveling back and forth between southern MD and northern VA everyday this summer, I had four breakdowns in the span of a month (and the hottest month of the year, at that!). I always had a novel or something with me to lean against the car in the hot sun and take in while waiting for help.

What do I read, you ask? At any given moment, I have a disparate selection at my fingertips. My current checkout list reads:

Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood; Heartbeat, Sharon Creech; The Rough Guide to the Brain, Barry Gibb; Domestic Bliss, Rita Konig; Shopaholic and Baby, Sophie Kinsella; Women & Money, Suze Orman; Dogboy, Christopher Russell; The Name of this Book is Secret, Psuedonymous Bosch; Autobiography of a Fat Bride, Laurie Notaro; Changeling, Delia Sherman; Other Lives, Sarah Woodhouse; Rescuing Sprite, Mark R. Levin; Pendragon Book One: The Merchant of Death, D.J. McHale; Between Fathers and Daughters, Linda Nielson; Food Matters, Mark Bittman; The Outrageous Tales of a Space Shuttle Astronaut: Riding Rockets, Mike Mullane… and about seven more that are either in the car, my purse, my bedroom or Charles’ car.

The thing is, I have always been a reader and it is embedded in my routine like brushing my teeth. I can’t help it. If I am not moving around doing something else, then I am most likely reading. I don’t watch TV to relax like most people I know. I read!

So throughout this blog, you’ll likely see posts that are entirely devoted to ce que je ris aujourd’hui. Yes, that was my French that is probably entirely wrong in its usage coming out to play.

 

Leave a Reply

