My Birthday

January 27, 2010 at 3:27 am (Uncategorized)

Hello everyone! I got confirmation today that someone else out there besides me actually reads my blog. Thanks Nicole! Your note was really timely and made my day seem a bit brighter. We’re in this together– if there’s ever anything I can do for you, let me know.

Today is my twenty-fourth birthday. I had a pretty good one, considering how broke we are and how far away most of my good friends live. I woke to Charles bringing home roses and a box of chocolates (not bad, not bad!). I purposely didn’t open the box right away so as to attempt to not eat all of them by lunchtime. The flowers are lovely, white and pink roses and some baby’s breath.

My phone was ringing off the hook all day and I’ve already made plans to hang out with friends over the next few weeks– long overdue! So thanks to everyone who remembered without the help of facebook– thought you got away with it, didn’t you guys? Just kidding. If facebook has to remind you, that’s ok too. Thanks to all! I accept all forms of payment, including paypal… sike! But really I do have paypal. Just sayin’.

Today I also attended a job fair. I feel pretty good about it, too. Most of the employers were contractors to the base, and I was able to talk to every single one. I must have handed out at least twenty resumes and got information about over 50 postings that are current for my area, most of which I am halfway qualified for! So, all in all I’m happy.

Funny thing happened too. I saw this girl from high school who absolutely loathes me. And the best part? She has to have gained at least thirty pounds since I last saw her! I know it’s wrong to revel in such trivial matters, but believe me, if this girl had tortured you the way she tortured me in high school, you’d be crowing with delight too. I even managed to avoid talking to her– she was recruiting for a firm that I’m interested in working for– and their company is hiring for positions for which I really hope to get an interview. Now I’m just worried that she’ll “inadvertently” toss my resume when she gets back to the office. But there are laws against that… right?

1 Comment

  1. Megan Maloney said,

    Happy Birthday – and good luck on the job search! I’m sure that girl won’t dare toss your res.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

